Manx Fuschia – Cross Stich

crossstitch fuschia upright 2Fuschia’s have always been one of my favourite flowers, I think at some point they are every girls favourite, with they way they look like ballerina outfits. Back in my days of making dresses for the flower fairies in my grandma’s garden, they were always my first choice. I wanted my first post to be a completed project so I’ve been putting the finishing touches to this small cross stitch card over the last few days. It’s incredible how different and much more impressive the piece looks once the outlines have been added to the shapes.

crossstitch fuschia flat

Cross stitch was how I learnt to sew. I remember doing a cross stitch with blue wool, the sort where the pattern is drawn onto the cross stitch material. Although I can’t remember what the pattern was or what happened to it now. For some reason I think it was a bear. I used to do lots of cross stitch as a kid, but stoppped as I got older and turned to other things. I have a feeling I found the patterns a bit old fashioned or twee.

This card was a small kit that was in my grandma’s sewing box. She passed away a year ago and this easter we went through some of her sewing things.  Between me and my sisters, most things found new homes. I took this particular cross stitch because a) I love fuschias and b) we were doing a lot of travelling over that holiday and I wanted a small portable project I could do on some planes and trains. I’ve really enjoyed doing this cross stitch and am definitely planning on  keeping an eye out for other small kits that I like. I like the one which come with cards, they feel more useful. This one will now go into my card box and we’ll see where it ends up.

I had to learn how to do a french knot for this project and rather enjoyed doing them by the last fuschia. Being able to watch you tube tutorials about whatever techniques you need to master is such an incredible thing. We are rather lucky, that we have these resources at our fingertips. Today I used one of the how to videos from needlenthread which was really clear and repeated itself multiple time so you could practice at the same speed as the demonstration. I got given an embroidery kit for Christmas and I think this will be a really useful website because it didn’t exactly come with a lot of instructions.

One thought on “Manx Fuschia – Cross Stich

Leave a Reply

