Bead shopping

Last weekend I went bead shopping, I was intending to buy some white ceylon size 11 Czech seed beads and some superduo’s. The seed beads I need for a work in progress and the superduo’s because I’d read an article on the beading daily newsletter, with a project that I want to try. I found the seed beads but the colours were rather uninspiring so the project has been saved for a later date.

However while browsing the bead shop, a few things caught my eye. I, as is always the case, ended up spending much more than I anticipated. I probably should have taken a picture of my haul before I started doing things with it. The first thing that caught my eye was a ceramic giraffe bead with blue and white glazing. I picked up three, with plans to make a earring and necklace set for my sister. She is about to do her masters exams, and this would make a nice little gift to cheer her up. They had a whole range of creatures in a similar style, some looking much cuter than others. I bought an owl to put on a simple chain for my other sister. I think it will probably be her first ‘real’ necklace – she’s not the girliest of girls, but she likes owls and it is not too girly. I then bought some enamel beads in a orange/blue colour scheme and a set of glass beads, which are black lined with an iridescent effect. Oh and an iridescent cabochon, for when I eventually learn how to bezel.

giraffe set

The necklaces for my sisters, I knocked up pretty quickly once I got home. I recently bought a lot of findings when beadaura in London Covent Garden shut down. I also had a clear idea of what I wanted to do with the enamel beads. I strung them up separated with some small gold bead caps and turquoise seed beads and attached them to gold chain. I have a couple of other necklaces in a similar style that I wear a lot.


enamel beads

The black beads I am less sure what to do with, so I shall sit on them for a while and see what I come up with.

Leave a Reply

