A spur of the moment thing

IMAG0383
The completed design. I followed the pattern of the fabric and only beaded the flower motifs.

I’ve been doing some bead embroidery. This all started while I was ill, I had a day off work because I was all foggy headed (which is kind of unsafe in my line of work) but by this point I was very bored by just sitting on the sofa. So I got out my sewing machine and used the time to whip up a cover for a diary that I’m planning to gift at christmas. However while looking through my fabric stash I became inspired by this green silk and all the opportunities it afforded for embellishing.

IMAG0389
Simple fold-over to create a removable cover. The silk is lined with some thin fleece for stability.

Fortunately my inspiration lasted longer than just sewing the cover. It took me roughly 1.5 hours to do 2 flowers so I think being able to spread it over several I nights but still feel like I’m achieving something definatley kept the momentum going. Even though the ‘moment’ has ended up being two weeks. In fact I’ve been enjoying it so much I bought my self a diary with intention of doing some improv bead embroidery, so lets see how long before I get bored.

One thought on “A spur of the moment thing

Leave a Reply

