Resolutions and Reviews

Happy New Year. It’s 2016 already. This is a little late already, sorry about that. Illness and travelling meant I wasn’t able to put together coherent sentences. But the beginning of new year is always a time for looking back at the previous year and deciding what to do in the new one. 2016 is going to be a big year for me but first 2015.

In 2015 I  started this blog, learnt patchwork/quilting and actually put it to some use and I’ve begun sewing again including gifting somethings I’ve made. All in all crafting wise it’s been a good year, I’ve made more things than ever and actually been telling people about them. Personally its been a bit up and down, initially I was getting better and then things started sliding and in the last few months my health has been so bad its having massive effects on everything else. Fingers crossed I stay a bit healthier this year (I’m starting badly on this one – today is my 3rd day in bed out of the last 4). However compared to the beginning of the year, I have a better understanding of what I need to do to take care of myself. I just need to be better at putting into practice next year.

2016 is going to be a stressful year. My main focus is getting my PhD finished (hopefully before they stop paying me). However if I don’t take care of myself its going to get nasty so I only have a few resolutions for myself this year.

Number 1 is to look after myself. In all the different ways that entails, for me its mostly giving myself time to do the things I enjoy making things) and trying to do some exercise. I completely stopped last year for a combination of reasons but it makes me feel so much better so I should try and keep at it.

Number 2 is no non work related deadlines. I don’t need to create stress for myself. So if I have something made to give as a gift that’s great and if I have an idea and enough time that’s ok too. But if the time runs out before I’m finished, I’m not going to worry about it. I can either deliver late or just buy a gift. I’m going to try and keep my monthly posts on here going but if they are 1 day (or 4) late, i don’t think anyone will mind.

The only exception to this rule is veryberry’s ATC swap which i’ve already signed up to. I’m also going to keep using the OTTBS challenges as inspiration but not fuss so much if I don’t have anything to submit by the end of the month.

Number 3 is to keep on top of the mess at home. I’m a natural slob, like really messy. And with being busy and stressed I know this can easily cause my flat to become a disaster zone. So I’m just going to keep on top of things. Basically this means cleaning up after myself as soon as possible, especially in the kitchen and after crafting.

And that’s it for this year. Lets see what happens.

Oh and just to round up here’s what I’m bring into the new year with me:

  1. A hat – a kit I bought. I’d pplanned to knit whiledriving around but the bus was way to bumpy for me to be able to do anything with decent tension so I didn’t get
  2. Bead Embroidery on a diary
  3. A 4 point star
  4. The beaded fringed bag
  5. The blanket
  6. One last heating pad (and some hand warmers)

And last month I got these things finished:

  1. My christmas cards
  2. The ornament for my mother
Leave a Reply

