Winter Sparkle

I took part in another veryberry ATC swap just before Christmas, the theme this time around was Winter Sparkle. I was determined to bring my beads into my next ATC and this was the perfect theme to do so.

imag1071_1
This is how I coral my ideas into some sense

After a little pondering – I draw sketches in my notebook – where I considered various frosty scenes, I came up with the idea of mimicking some fair isle knitting patterns with beads. Fair isle knitting is the knitting with rows of repeated motifs and contrasting colours. After looking up some Christmas patterns I found the reindeer and star motifs. I didn’t feel up to doing free form bead embroidery of something that is so geometric, so I used aida (cross stitch material) for the backing. I use frixion pens to mark out the pattern.

img_20161106_220322
Work in Progress: you can see the frixion markings I use as guidance

I started with the star and once I got going quickly figured out a technique that worked for me. However once I’d done the star and border, I realised I was going to have a lot of background showing. At first I decided to fill it in with cross stitch, which I probably should have done first, but hey ho. I worked around the border beads doing cross stitch and quickly realised how long this was going to take. So I swapped to half cross stitch (diagonal line) – My background was sparkly white on white aida so the coverage was pretty good. It still look a long time. The second half of the ATC, where I did the cross stitch first was much easier than the 1st half – so I know for next time.

After all those hours doing the background, I kept the backing and edging very simple, simply whip stitched the two sides together (with seams folded inwards). I also just wrote on my details.

I return I received this beautifully packaged and gorgeous artist trading card from Jayne. I’m loving my little collection I’m building.

Leave a Reply

