In the Shadows – Participating

One of my thoughts this year was that I wanted to participate a little more in the blogging and beading communities. One way I’m trying to do this is by taking part in the operation tackle that beadstash (OTTBS) challenge and some of the beadalongs hosted in the friendly beaders facebook group.

This year, the ottbs challenge for January was two months long and was around the theme ‘in the shadows’. At first I had no idea what to do for this challenge and in January I wasn’t really feeling beading with all the change.

And then the friendly beaders had a beadalong for Sabine Lippert’s New Romance necklace. It’s a pretty necklace but a little over the top for my tastes, however I quickly saw people just making a few units and linking them simply. This caught my eye, so I sat down to see if I had the pieces to make it. I found three silvery beads for the centers and began to bead. I’m glad I did because I a) I really enjoyed it and b) I wear it all the time.

17264445_10154618810828477_9094466890523610511_n

As I was making it, I realised that this was perfect for the ottbs challenge, even if just because of the colours. And even better I actually shared them with people and particpated. So here’s my coming out from in the shadows.

Leave a Reply

