February 2024

January has been slow. I’ve been trying to do a little less so that I don’t crash energy wise, especially as I am working full time again. It’s mostly worked but left me feeling a little under stimulated. I have been working on a range of projects to combat that feeling with some mixed success

  1. Jumper – No change
  2. Large mixed media embroidery – I have picked this back up again, with the aim to finish it this year. I’ve completed a couple of different motifs and am set up to continue working on it
  3. Clamshell draft excluder – I am working on joining the fabric piece up into a tube
  4. Mandolin quilt – All the sections are done, I’m going to take a short break before joining them together
  5. A beaded Christmas wreath – I’ve added a lot of length and used up all the green beads I own. I’m actually going to take this one off the list until I go shopping.
  6. The mixed media quilt as you panels – the top is constructed as are handles so now it’s assembly time
  7. A cherish quilt – I’ve cut out the pieces for 3.5 of the hexagon sections. As I’ve said this is a slow project so don’t get your hopes up just yet
  8. Beaded Snowdrops – I had a kit to make some beaded Snowdrops bought for me several years ago. I finally started them in my beading group
  9. Focus cutting sewalong – I saw this on Instagram last year, part way through the year, and found it interesting. And so this year I’m participating in a way. The challenge is to make a hexagon from equilateral triangles each week, according to the theme. The overarching theme is the alphabet and then each week has an associated letter and style of focus cutting. I’m doing half hexagons out of 3 triangles each week, to limit the amount of effort required. It’s very fun to play around with my fabric and see what I have.

I don’t have any finishes this month, but I hit some good milestones so I’m feeling good about it

My feature image is my beaded wreath so far

Leave a comment